Advertisement feature — this page is published by Scentech.
Buying guide · updated 9 September 2026
Aromatherapy diffuser: how to choose an electric oil diffuser for your home (2026)
Almost everything sold in Britain as an aromatherapy diffuser is the same machine in different pottery: a small tank of water with two or three drops of oil in it. This guide separates the category into five types, sets out the five questions that decide which one you will still be using next spring, and names the machine we would put in a living room. Compared on specifications and public customer reviews; we run no laboratory tests of our own.

There is a shelf in our kitchen with eleven small brown bottles on it. Lavender twice, because we forgot the first one. A eucalyptus from a January when the whole house had a cough. Most are more than half full and several no longer smell of much.
They are there because of the machine underneath. Fill to the line with clean water, add two or three drops, press the button. A cool plume comes out until the tank runs dry. It works, in the sense that something is happening. What it does not do is make the sitting room smell of anything by the time you have walked to the other end of it, and it wants a rinse every few days that we kept up for a fortnight.
What we were after was duller than aromatherapy usually sounds: a house that smells right at six on a Thursday, at the far end of the room as well as beside the machine. This is the short version of what we worked out since, with "not stated" wherever a maker gives no figure.
Types of aromatherapy diffuser, and what each one really does
Five things are sold under this heading, and they are not variations on a theme.
Reed diffusers
A bottle of scented oil with rattan sticks in the neck. Nothing is powered or heated: the oil creeps up the reeds and evaporates off them. That holds a small enclosed space at a low, constant level — a cloakroom, a landing, a hallway with a door at each end. In an open-plan room ours became furniture within a week.
Plug-in diffusers
A refill bottle warmed in a wall socket until the fragrance lifts off it. Cheap and everywhere, and it solves one problem: a small room with a socket and nobody wanting to think about it again. It runs whenever the plug is in, and the socket decides where the scent starts from, which in most rooms is behind the sofa.
Ultrasonic diffusers
Nearly every machine on the high street. A plate vibrates under a tank of water and pushes water and oil out together as a cool mist; John Lewis prints the recipe on its own page, telling you to add two to three drops of essential oil to 100 ml of clean water. Any oil you like can go in, which is the real strength. The weaknesses are structural: coverage is rarely stated, runtimes are short, and the US Environmental Protection Agency writes that ultrasonic and impeller humidifiers can disperse micro-organisms and minerals from the tank into the air, advising a daily empty and dry of the tank.
Nebulising and waterless diffusers
No water, no heat. The fragrance oil itself is broken into a dry, fine mist, so what leaves the machine is scent rather than damp air, and one reaches across a room an ultrasonic machine cannot. In exchange the oil goes faster and most take only the maker's own refills. Scentech's three models work this way, which it calls cold-air diffusion.
Candle warmers and wax burners
A lamp or hotplate that melts a candle without lighting it: no soot, no flame, and the wax lasts longer. Economically it is still a candle, and candles are by some distance the expensive way to scent a room — the table further down puts the pence per hour side by side.
Reeds against the electric machines is the comparison most people are really making, and it is written out in electric diffuser vs reed diffuser.
What decides whether you still like it in six months
Five questions, each with a figure or a word that ought to be in the specification. When it is missing, that is an answer too.
Does it need water?
The fork in the road. Water means a tank, limescale and a rinse, and it means the oil arrives diluted, which is why an ultrasonic machine can be pleasant a metre away and undetectable across the room. Waterless means none of that, at the price of the maker's refills.
Check for: "ultrasonic" or "waterless" / "cold-air". If the instructions say to add drops to a tank, it is ultrasonic whatever the packaging says.
How much room can it actually scent?
Measure the room, kitchen included if it opens onto it, then look for a machine rated for that area with margin: a stated coverage is a best case, not a promise. British listings are weak here. Of the machines we looked at on John Lewis, tisserand.com and homedics.co.uk, only the Beurer LA 40 gives a figure, at up to 20 m² (John Lewis, 9 September 2026).
Check for: a number in m² with a source. No number usually means a small room.
How loud is it at two in the morning?
These run for hours, often two metres from a head on a pillow. Around 40 dB is what makers call whisper-quiet; around 60 dB is compared to a calm conversation, which is a lot in a bedroom.
Check for: a decibel figure. Almost no high-street listing prints one, so search the reviews for the word noise instead.
What goes in it, and what the refill costs
The purchase price is the small number; the refill decides what you spend. Single-note essential oils at Holland & Barrett ran from £0.50 to £1.28 per ml on 9 September 2026, and the table further down sets the other refills against them.
One thing belongs here plainly. Scentech's diffusers run on the company's own ScentPods of 65 ml, and those pods hold blended fragrance oil, not pure essential oil. They are not essential oils and we do not call them that anywhere on this site. Scentech's instructions are explicit that you should never put water, or oils meant for a water-based diffuser, into the machine, and other oils fall outside the warranty. If your own single-note lavender is the point, a waterless machine of any brand is the wrong product and an ultrasonic one is the honest answer.
Check for: a price per ml and a stated life per refill; without the second the first tells you nothing.
Can you set it and forget it?
A machine you switch on by hand every morning is in a cupboard by half term. A weekly schedule is the difference: on when the alarm goes, off when the house empties, on again before the first person is home. An app over Bluetooth works whether or not the wi-fi does. None of the six British machines we looked at has one at all.
Check for: "app" with "schedule" or "timer", the connection type, and a control on the device.
How we weight those five is on How we compare.
Our recommendation
Put those five questions to the specifications and the Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 is what comes back. Every answer is from the specification table on the maker's own English product page (9 September 2026).
- Water. None. Cold-air diffusion: no tank, nothing to descale.
- Coverage. Up to 65 m², against the 20 m² of the only British machine in our set that states a figure.
- Noise. ± 39.5 dB, which the maker calls whisper-quiet.
- Refill. A ScentPod 2.0 of 65 ml is about £27, roughly £0.42 per ml, and Scentech states one to three months per pod: about 4p an hour at 12 hours a day on a medium setting.
- Control. The Scentech app over Bluetooth with weekly schedules, plus a dial on the machine. The pod clicks in; nothing is decanted.
On its own it is about £132 (converted at checkout, September 2026). In Scentech's Home Reset Sale it is the free gift at seven scents, the Diffuser Lite at five and the Pro at nine. Two drawbacks first: mains only, with no battery, and it takes Scentech's own blended fragrance pods, so other oils are out and so is the warranty if you try.
| Model | Coverage | Noise | On its own | Free with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smart Aroma Diffuser (Diffuser Lite) | up to 40 m² | ± 59.5 dB | about £101 | 5 scents |
| Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 | up to 65 m² | ± 39.5 dB | about £132 | 7 scents |
| Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro | up to 100 m² | ± 39.5 dB | about £193 | 9 scents |
A bedroom only? The smallest is enough, and it is the one of the three that runs on D batteries or USB-C. Every pound figure is the shop's conversion from euros on 9 September 2026 and moves with the rate; coverage and decibels are the manufacturer's own, and we measured nothing.
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout.

What buyers say
The diffuser is absolutely fantastic! It looks beautiful, and the fragrance fills the whole house with an amazing scent.
Amazing smells really finished my new appartment!
Outstanding system. Very nice flavours. Very convenient to allow control over the app. I recommend!
Scentech sits at 4.7 on Trustpilot (281 reviews, September 2026), 84 per cent of them at five stars. We read the four-star ones too: Geert, in September 2026, wrote in Dutch that the oils are expensive for the life you get at maximum use, a fair reading of the maker's own one-to-three-months range. One caveat matters more than the score: no reviewer on that profile carries a British flag. Scentech gives 30 days to cancel and another 14 to send goods back, refunds the full order amount including standard shipping, pays return postage and warrants the machine for 1 year. The score is on the Trustpilot profile.
What a month of scent costs
| Scent source | Price (source) | Per hour | Per month at 12 hours a day |
|---|---|---|---|
| ScentPod 2.0 in a Scentech diffuser | about £27.00 per 65 ml, £0.42 per ml (Scentech, converted at checkout, September 2026) | about £0.04 (maker's figure) | about £13; £9 to £27 by setting (1 to 3 months per pod) |
| Stoneglow Modern Classics diffuser oil | £11.00 for 15 ml, £0.73 per ml (John Lewis) | not stated | not stated; no life per refill is published |
| Single-note essential oil in a water diffuser | £0.50 to £1.28 per ml (Holland & Barrett) | not stated | not stated; depends on drops per fill |
| Yankee Candle Original Large Jar | £29.99 for up to 150 hours (yankeecandle.co.uk) | £0.20 | about £72 (£0.20 × 12 × 30) |
| Jo Malone London Lime Basil & Mandarin, 200 g | £56.00 for 45 hours (John Lewis) | £1.24 | about £446 (£1.24 × 12 × 30) |
The machines we would not buy for a whole house
Not because they are badly made, but because they answer so few of the five questions. Six you meet often in Britain, with nothing but the facts their own seller published on 9 September 2026.
| Model | Technology | Water or oil held | Stated coverage | App | Price | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 | cold-air, waterless | 65 ml pod | up to 65 m² | yes | about £132 | 4.7 / 281 on Trustpilot (brand-wide) |
| Beurer LA 40 at John Lewis | ultrasonic | 180 ml water | up to 20 m² | no | £39.99 | 4.5 / 35 (John Lewis) |
| Tisserand Aroma Spa | ultrasonic | 100 ml water | not stated | no | £43.00 | 4.6 / 11 (brand shop) |
| John Lewis Speckled Ceramic | ultrasonic | 100 ml | not stated | no | £55.00 | 5.0 / 1 (John Lewis) |
| Ellia Gather (HoMedics) | ultrasonic | not stated | not stated | no | £59.99 | none published |
| Stoneglow Perfume Mist | not stated by the retailer | 15 ml oil | not stated | no | £65.00 | 4.3 / 13 (John Lewis) |
Read that downwards rather than across. Only the Beurer says what size of room it is for, and not one of the six has an app or a weekly schedule. The Speckled Ceramic rests on a single review, and John Lewis writes on that page that the appliance is for occasional household use only. The Tisserand's 4.6 rests on eleven reviews, one of them from a verified buyer on 21 July 2026: "…it is impossible for me to remove the cover in order to refill the reservoir… I was also surprised to find that the reservoir held so little water." HoMedics publishes no rating for the Ellia Gather, so we give it none.
Where to buy an aromatherapy diffuser in Britain
John Lewis has the tidiest selection you can also stand in front of: its own Electric Diffuser at £50, the Speckled Ceramic at £55, the Beurer LA 40 at £39.99, the Stoneglow Perfume Mist at £65 and The White Company's Electronic Diffuser at £70 (9 September 2026). The brand shops are the other route — Tisserand, HoMedics, NEOM (whose Wellbeing Pod is £100 on its own site, with 4.6 from 1,238 reviews), Rituals — where machine and refills are sold together. Amazon.co.uk carries the widest range, but we could not read British prices for any of it from where we work, so we quote none; Argos, Dunelm, Boots and The Range would not let us read their pages on the day either.
We send readers to Scentech's own offer page for one reason: the free diffuser is added to the basket only there. Order the same seven scents from a product page and you pay for the machine.
One step before you fill a basket: on 9 September 2026 that checkout offered no delivery option at all for a British address. Parcels leave from the Netherlands, so put your postcode in before you decide anything else.
How the offer works
- Pick your scents on the offer page. Open Scentech's Home Reset Sale and choose 3, 5, 7 or 9 ScentPods of 65 ml. Each is about £27, converted at checkout, September 2026.
- The diffuser is added for you. Three scents unlock a Mystery Scent, five the Diffuser Lite, seven the Diffuser 2 and nine the Pro. It happens automatically, and only on that page.
- At home: pod in, schedule set. Click a pod into the machine, pair the Scentech app over Bluetooth and set the hours you actually want scent.
Questions people ask before ordering
Can Scentech deliver to a UK address?
Not as things stood on 9 September 2026: with a British address in the basket the checkout offered no shipping option at all. Orders ship from the Netherlands and no UK delivery time or cost is published anywhere on the shop, so the checkout is the only place that will tell you.
Are the pods essential oils?
No. A ScentPod 2.0 holds 65 ml of blended fragrance oil made for cold-air diffusion, not a pure single-note essential oil, and we do not call it one. If aromatherapy in the strict sense is the point, buy an ultrasonic diffuser and your own oils.
Can I put my own oil in one?
No. Scentech's instructions are explicit: never use water, or oils meant for a water-based diffuser. Other oils fall outside the warranty.
Are the prices in pounds fixed?
No. They are the shop's own conversion from euros and move with the exchange rate. On 9 September 2026 that gave about £27 a scent, about £101 for the Diffuser Lite, about £132 for the Diffuser 2 and about £193 for the Pro.
What if a scent does not suit me?
You have 30 days to cancel and a further 14 to send the goods back. Scentech refunds the full order amount including standard shipping and states that return postage is on them unless it says otherwise. You may test one diffuser and use no more than 10 ml of one pod.
The short answer
Measure the room, count the hours you actually want scent in it, and then decide the water question first, because everything else follows it. For most British living rooms that lands on the Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2: up to 65 m², ± 39.5 dB, app and dial, and roughly £13 a month in pods. It is free with seven scents, the Diffuser Lite with five and the Pro with nine. Check the delivery step before you commit to any of it.
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout.